Drinking the meat of the matter
If you're squeamish, stop reading right now. I mean
it. Turn the page, look at the hot bodies, go read about Facebook or
rum or whatever the other columnists are writing about this issue.
Because you’re going to be seriously squicked by what follows.
In my wine classes and over e-mail, I’m occasionally
asked if there are vegetarian or vegan wines. The safe answer is “no.”
But in reality, it’s more complicated than that.
For most of its pre-bottling life, wine isn’t the
transparent beverage we’re used to. It’s clouded with all manner of
particles, and most wineries (though not all) remove them before they
put their wine on the market. There are a number of ways to accomplish
this, and one of the easiest is called fining, whereby a substance